JOINT POWERS BOARD Monday, October 24, 2022 10:00 a.m.

The regular meeting of the Counties Providing Technology (CPT) Joint Powers Board (JPB) was called to order at 10:00 a.m., Monday, October 24, 2022, by Chair Kopitzke. In attendance from member counties were:

Big Stone: Commissioner Backer

Cottonwood: Commissioner Appel (virtual attendance, voting)

Douglas: Commissioner Meyer

Grant: Commissioner Troy Johnson; Commissioner Walvatne (virtual attendance, non-voting)

Kandiyohi: Commissioner Nissen

Lincoln: Commissioner Drietz (virtual attendance, non-voting)

Lyon: Commissioner Sanow

Mahnomen: Commissioner Ahmann

Marshall: Commissioner Miller (virtual attendance, non-voting)

Meeker: absent

Nobles: Commissioner Demuth, Jr. (virtual attendance, voting)
Norman: Commissioner Redland (virtual attendance, non-voting)

Pipestone: Commissioner Hollingsworth

Pope: Commissioners Lindor

Redwood: Commissioner Wakefield

Renville: Commissioner Fox (virtual attendance, voting)

Steele: absent

Stevens: Commissioner Kopitzke Swift: Commissioner Pederson Todd: Commissioner Neumann Traverse: Commissioner Salberg Wadena: Commissioner Weyer Wilkin: Commissioner Folstad Yellow Medicine: absent

Others present: Joel Flaten, Mike Koehler, Heidi Roiland, Stephanie Buss, Janel Timm

Commissioner Sanow moved to approve the agenda. Commissioner Nissen seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Commissioner Salberg moved to approve minutes of the September 26, 2022 meeting. Commissioner Folstad seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Joel Flaten and Mike Koehler presented the Financial Report. Commissioner Backer moved to approve the September 2022 Financial Report. Commissioner Lindor seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Warrants were presented for review. Commissioner Nissen moved to approve the warrant registers from September 29, 2022 through October 13, 2022. Commissioner Meyer seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Stephanie Buss, Stevens County Auditor/Treasurer presented investment options from Bremer Bank. Much discussion followed. Commissioner Weyer moved there be no payout to owning counties in 2023 and excess funds be moved into higher rate of return investments. Commissioner Lindor seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried. Commissioner Meyer moved to direct Stevens County Auditor/Treasurer Stephanie Buss to invest \$800,000 of excess funds in a ladder format. Commissioner Sanow seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Joel Flaten provided the Executive Director's Update.

Commissioner Kopitzke gave the Executive Committee update. Commissioner Backer moved to appoint the executive committee as the nominating committee for 2023. Commissioner Meyer seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried. It was brought to the attention of the Board after the motion that the Chair is the individual who appoints the nominating committee. The chair appointed himself, Vice Chair P. Johnson and Commissioner Sanow to the nominating committee.

Commissioner Backer moved to approve the contract between CPT and Faribault County for Real Estate Tax software services and support as written in the proposal. Commissioner T. Johnson seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Commissioner Salberg moved to pay Joint Powers Board Members a per diem of \$100 per meeting plus mileage, to be paid by CPT effective January 1, 2023. Commissioner Hollingsworth seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 5 nay votes, 11 yay votes and 2 Commissioners abstaining; motion carried.

Commissioner Backer presented an update from the Personnel Committee. Commissioner Nissen moved to approve Preston Miller as the Development Lead at Grade 10, Step 11 effective 10/17/22. Commissioner Ahmann seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Commissioner Sanow moved for recommendation of a 2.5% COLA increase in wages for 2023. Commissioner Neumann seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Commissioner Folstad moved for approval of the following staff to Level 2: Rodney J Holman, Software Developer 2, Grade 9, Step 5 effective 10/31/2022; Elizabeth Weidauer, Technical Support Specialist 2, Grade 7, Step 5 effective 10/31/2022; Heidi Roiland Technical Support Specialist 2, Grade 7 Step 4 effective 12/16/2022.

Commissioner Folstad moved for approval of changing the hybrid work model to include staff being in office an average of two days per week. Commissioner Pederson seconded the motion and all members voted aye, motion carried.

Janel Timm presented updates from the Software and Strategic Planning Committees.

The next meeting of the board will be November 28 at 10:00 a.m. Reminder, there will not be a meeting held in December.

Hearing no further business Chair Kopitzke called for adjournment at 11:20 a.m.

Chair –	Bob	Kopitz	ke		